TAPPS Competitions

The TAPPS Academic, Music, and Art Competitions offer activities that complement the school’s curriculum.  These activities are designed to motivate students as they acquire higher levels of knowledge, to challenge students to confront issues of importance, and to provide students with the opportunity to demonstrate mastery of specific skills.  Each year, Faith West Academy students participate in competitions in the following categories:

  • Academics
  • Arts
  • Vocal Music
  • Instrumental Music
  • One Act Plays

CLICK HERE for a complete list of TAPPS Competitions.

TAPPS Awards

Faith West consistently brings home awards at TAPPS competitions.

2016 – 2017 Awards

2017 State Vocal meet at St. Mary’s University.

The choir came away with 23 medals and a Division 1 Superior rating on their mixed ENSEMBLE performance.

Division 1 Superior Piano Solo
  • Nathan Park
Division 1 Superior Vocal Solo
  • Chris Nguyen
  • Jonathan Rightmire
  • Savannah Garland
  • Eleni Mote
  • Jessica Gorski
  • Ethel Deng
  • Natalie Hall
  • Alexandra Gardner
Division 1 Excellent Vocal Solo
  • Kylie Davis
  • Sam Xing

TAPPS Drum Line and Marching Band Contest in Waco, TX

The DRUM LINE attended the TAPPS Drum Line Contest in Waco, Tx. on Monday, Oct. 24, 2016. They placed Runner Up (2nd) place in their competition. This was their first year to compete and also received the following individual awards.  Lucas Campbell-Best Cymbals, Caleb Mendoza-Best Tenor and all four Bass Drummers, Thomas Kontilis, Princeton Woods, Lauren Boatright and Adam Harth.

The MARCHING BAND participated in the TAPPS Marching Band Contest as well. They received an EXCELLENT rating of a II from all three adjudicators. They not only looked good but sounded great. There were 45 band and color guard members showing outstanding style and charisma.

TAPPS Division II, District 4 One-Act Plays Competition

Faith West was awarded third Place at the TAPPS One-Act Plays competition. Individual awards went to the following students:

  • Honorable Mention Cast Award:  Savannah Garland and  Josh Romero
  • All-Star Cast Award: Eleni Mote and  Alice Wang
  • All-Star Crew Award: Gabe Knapp