Who’s Who at Faith West Academy 2018-2019

TRICIA WALLACE

Position: 7th/8th Grade Science Teacher
About Me: I’m a Jesus Freak since 1992! (little shout out to DC Talk for being there in my Christian infancy!) I’ve been married for 25 years. My husband and I teach a Bible study at our church that was an empty nester’s class and is now just an “everybody’s welcome to the discussion” class. We have a great time co-teaching. I really love to study the Bible.
My favorite station is KSBJ.  I really love music, and Contemporary Christian just keeps me grounded. My husband, Paul, now listens to the same station so we have a lot of great discussion starters. We enjoy hanging out together and trying new things. Last Christmas, we tried painting and horseback riding. We had such a great time that we painted again at Christmas this year and have reservations for another trail ride. We enjoy traveling and trying new foods. In August, to celebrate our 25th anniversary we went to Montreal, Quebec. Beautiful architecture and great food!
I have one stepdaughter who has four daughters – I love being a Gigi! Paul and I make awesome grandparents – well, the girls think so! We love to hang out and just play whatever they’re into that day. Also, we love to listen to their great stories from their perspective of life. So fun!

What do you do for fun? I love to swim, read, watch crime dramas, and watch movies. I also enjoy crafting – I love to glue stuff together!

What’s your favorite  thing about Faith West? I really enjoy being able to bring the Creator into every aspect of science. God is so cool! He is the master artist and engineer – I love sharing Him with students! Also, we have a really awesome team here! I really feel welcome! Thank you!

DAWN BELL

Position: Preschool 3’s Teacher
About Me: I was born and raised in Baltimore, MD.  I went to North Central University in MN.  There I received  my BS in Elementary Education with a Kindergarten endorsement.  My passion has always been to teach and help children.  I have 5 beautiful children (Katelyn 18, Isabella 16, Austin 15, Makaila 13, Caleb 12) whom I have homeschooled up to last year.
What do you do for fun?  I love spending time with the Fab5. I love to bake, cook, craft, bike, read, and spend time  preparing learning activities for my students.
What’s your favorite  thing about Faith West?   Absolutely LOVE the teachers and staff that I work with.  We are a team and together we educate all the students we come in contact with.  All of the teachers and staff are very compassionate about what they do. We go beyond educating our students, we show them the love of Christ.

ELISHA KALVASS

Position: Preschool Assistant Director
About Me: I am a mom to 3 kiddos: Trey (16), Wil (13), and Grace (7). My husband Sam and I are members at Kingsland Baptist Church.
What do you do for fun? I love hiking and outdoor activities. We spend lots of time watching our kids play soccer and football.
What’s your favorite thing about FWA? I am blessed to be part of a school that addresses the social, emotional, spiritual, and academic needs of children.  I love connecting with children and partnering with parents to see children thrive.  It is a blessing and honor to serve the preschool children at FWA.

SHIRLEY OWEN

Position: Librarian
About Me: I have been married to Paul for 26 years. I have three children and one son-in-law: Erin and Dakota Walkley, Rachel, and Dan.
What Do You Do For Fun? For fun I enjoy traveling (especially road trips), spending time with my family, cooking, crossword puzzles, and playing games.
What’s your favorite thing about FWA? My favorite things about FWA are being able to freely speak about Jesus and interacting with all the students that come to the library.

BRANDI STANLEY

Position: Student Advocate
About Me: Bachelors degree in Psychology and Masters degree in Marriage and Family Therapy from the University of Southern Mississippi. Texas Educator License In Special Education grades K-12. Married to Bo for 23 years. Children, Scott (senior) and Lauren (freshman) are high school students at Faith West.
What Do You Do For Fun?  I love to travel and have traveled six of the seven continents by planes, trains, automobiles, camels, and elephants. I take great pleasure in daily exercise and clean eating as an act of worship and thanksgiving.
What’s your favorite thing about FWA? What I love most about FWA is demonstrated weekly in chapel. That is a time when I am reminded that God has placed me here, for such a time as this, to minister to and be ministered by my coworkers and students.

LIZA GORHAM

Position:  ELL- English/History
About Me: My husband and I have two daughters that attend Faith West.  Lexi is in the 8th grade and Lilli is in the 6th grade.  I am fond of animals as I am the primary caretaker of our family’s horses, cows, bunnies, cats, guinea pigs, and dog.
What Do You Do For Fun?  I like to go on summer vacations with my family.
What’s your favorite thing about FWA? I enjoy the personal and welcoming family atmosphere at Faith West.  I am thankful for the fact that Christ is a focal part of the education process and I am reminded every day to count my blessing through him.

DONNA PARKER

Position:  4th/5th Grade Science and G/T
About Me: I was born and raised in Georgia and attended The University of Alabama – totally a southern girl!  My husband and I have two sons-one married and one engaged, two grandsons, and two dogs!
What Do You Do For Fun? I love to read, talk to my grandsons in China, attend Broadway musicals, and travel.
Wat’s your favorite thing about FWA? I love to be able to freely discuss my faith. At FWA, I can openly talk about my love of Jesus and help grow a strong Christian worldview in each student I teach.

BRITTANY DEVANE

Position: Agriculture Science teacher/FFA Advisor
About Me: Originally from Katy, TX. Completed my Bachelors degree in Interdisciplinary Agriculture with a minor in Secondary Education at Sam Houston State University. And I’ve recently gotten married in December 2017!
What Do You Do For Fun? Huge sports fan of the Houston Astros and Houston Texans! I love to hangout with family and friends. I also have my own photography business on the side!
What’s your favorite thing about FWA? The students! They are polite, hard working, success driven individuals, who with God, have so much future ahead of them! As an agriculture teacher/FFA advisor I get the opportunity to really know the kids on a personal level in my classes, and that’s why I “Never underestimate your importance to these kids; even God sent his son to be a vocational teacher.”

DANIELLE HIRSCH

Position:   7th/8th Grade Math
About Me:  I graduated from Concordia University Texas with a Bachelor’s in middle school education-mathematics.  I am a native Houstonian and a huge Astros fan!
What do you do for fun? I love quilting, watching baseball (Go ‘Stros!) and early morning workouts at Cross Fit Hippo.
What’s your favorite thing about FWA? I love the family atmosphere and the opportunity to worship our Lord. I’m even inspired by the students who show so much passion during chapel! I thank God everyday for the chance to be a part of FWA

JENNIFER STRANGE

Position: 3rd Grade ELA/History
About Me: I was born and raised in Indiana. I now live in Katy with my husband, daughter, and doggie. We love family time!
What do you do for fun? I enjoy reading and baking.
What’s your favorite thing about FWA? My favorite thing about teaching at FWA is that God is at the center of all that we do. Teaching is a ministry. I have fallen in love with the vision of FWA!

DIANE SCOTT

Position: Kindergarten Teacher
About Me: I graduated from Northern Illinois University with a Bachelor’s of Science in Elementary Education. I am a mom of four, which includes a set of triplets. My family and I relocated to Katy, Texas in 2016 and LOVE Texas!
What do you do for fun? I enjoy spending time with family and discovering Texas. I also love to jog long distance and have completed the Chicago Marathon three times!
What’s your favorite thing about FWA? I am awed by the support of the staff, parents, and love the FWA students.

DOUG MCROREY

Position: HS Science
About Me: I like to spend time with my family.
What do you do for fun? I like to run and I saltwater fish whenever I can.
What’s your favorite thing about FWA? The people. My students are great and everyone has been very helpful as I’ve gotten started at FWA.

HALEY SCHUETZEL

Position: Third Grade Math, Science, and Bible
About Me: I graduated from Faith West in 2010!
What do you do for fun? I love spending time outdoors, from cave diving to camping! Of course, I like watching Netflix in my downtime.
What’s your favorite thing about FWA? How much the school has grown and continues to grow!

SUZANNE OLMON

Position:  4/5th ELA & History Teacher
About Me:  I am married to my husband Eric, and we have two adult sons named Jonathan and Reed. This will be my 7th year of teaching. I am thrilled to join the FWA staff! I received my Bachelor’s from Texas A & M, my Master’s in Curriculum and Instruction from University of Houston, and my Doctorate in Worship Studies from the Robert E. Webber Institute for Worship Studies.
What do you do for fun? I like to sing, run, and spend time with my hands in the dirt.
What’s your favorite thing about FWA?  I love the family and faith-filled tone and spirit of this school. From the first moment of my interview, I felt like it would be a true blessing to be a part of this team.